Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

When will the Premier League 2021-22 season start & finish? Teams involved, fixture dates & all you would like to understand

All the small print about next season’s competition, including when the fixtures are released and more

Manchester City were crowned Premier League champions in 2020-21 with three games to spare and their rivals are already plotting the overthrow of Pep Guardiola and Co. next season.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s Manchester United will have designs on glory, while the likes of Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool are going to be wanting to set things straight in 2021-22.

It may be a couple of months between the top of the season and therefore the start of a replacement one, but with Euro 2020 in between, it’ll surely fly for football fans.

So, with the season ending and anticipation of the new one already building, Goal brings you everything you would like to understand  new online bookmakers.

On this page

  1. When will Premier League 2021-22 start?
  2. When will Premier League 2021-22 finish?
  3. Which teams are involved in Premier League 2021-22?
  4. When will Premier League 2021-22 fixtures be released?


When will Premier League 2021-22 start?

The Premier League 2021-22 season will begin on Saturday August 14, 2021.

It will begin roughly a month after the conclusion of Euro 2020, with the tournament final happening on July 11, meaning some players will have a really short break before getting back to pre-season mode.

Ordinarily, footballers have around two months of an off-season before returning for pre-season training a month before the season is thanks to commence.

Scheduling has returned to normal following the disruption to the 2020-21 season caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, which saw the campaign start date moved back a month to September 2020.

When will Premier League 2021-22 finish?

The 2021-22 Premier League season will conclude on Sunday May 22, 2022. All fixtures thereon date will begin simultaneously.

Which teams are involved in Premier League 2021-22?

A total of 20 teams will compete within the 2021-22 Premier League season, with three promoted teams replacing the three that were relegated in 2020-21.

Norwich City and Watford will compete within the 2021-22 Premier League having secured automatic promotion from the Championship. they’re going to be joined by Brentford, the winner of the Championship play-offs top sports betting sites.

You can read more about the play-offs here.

Club Stadium 2020-21 position
Arsenal Emirates Stadium 8th
Aston Villa Villa Park 11th
Brentford Brentford Community Stadium Championship play-off winner
Brighton Amex Stadium 16th
Burnley Turf Moor 17th
Chelsea Stamford Bridge 4th
Crystal Palace Selhurst Park 14th
Everton Goodison Park 10th
Leeds United Elland Road 9th
Leicester City King Power Stadium 5th
Liverpool Anfield 3rd
Manchester City Etihad Stadium 1st
Manchester United Old Trafford 2nd
Newcastle United St James’ Park 12th
Norwich City Carrow Road 1st Championship
Southampton St Mary’s Stadium 15th
Tottenham Tottenham Hotspur Stadium 7th
Watford Vicarage Road 2nd Championship
West Ham London Stadium 6th
Wolves Molineux Stadium 13th

Sheffield United, West Brom and Fulham were relegated from the division and can not participate in 2021-22. they’re going to instead be competing within the Championship in 2021-22.

The likes of Brighton, Newcastle United and Burnley will once more play within the Premier League next season, having managed to avoid the drop.

When will Premier League 2021-22 fixtures be released?

The fixtures for the Premier League 2021-22 are going to be released on Wednesday June 16, 2021. they’re going to be available for everybody from 9am BST (4am ET) thereon date.
Article continues below

There are going to be 38 matchdays and a complete of 380 fixtures will be confirmed on fixture release day, though they’re going to be subject to vary supported TV schedules then forth.

Goal will have all the small print , including opening day, big derby matches and everything else in between.