!-- 634c7aa55dca3b282b7c80846a1dd8060284ae7f -->

Report: SEC Approves Conference-Only Season 2020 Schedule

The Southeastern Conference, like Big Ten and Pac-12, will adopt a conference-only schedule for the 2020 college football season, according to a report from Sports Illustrated.

The SEC is expected to start playing on September 26, which is three weeks after the original start date of the season. The SEC retains its seven-team format, and teams play two more crossover games with the new schedule. In addition, the SEC has moved the championship game to December 19.

MORE: SN’s top 40 college football players for 2020

The conference-only movement contrasts with the ACC’s decision to create a plus-one model, which was made on Wednesday. The ACC revealed her schedule, which included adding Notre Dame as a member.

The SEC’s decision to move to a conference-only schedule eliminates some of the longstanding traditional rivalry of college football, such as South Carolina-Clemson, Kentucky-Louisville, Florida-Florida State, and Georgia-Georgia Tech.

The Big Ten went to a conference-only model on July 9. The Pac-12 followed on July 10.

The Big 12 is the only Power 5 conference that has not made a decision on the 2020 schedule model. The Big 12 canceled its Media Days on Thursday.

fbq(‘init’, 235247967118144);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);