NY, NJ, Conn. To quarantine visitors from poorer states

Judge's Facebook friendship is disrupting custody in Wisconsin

NEW YORK (AP) – New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey require visitors from other states with high infection rates to be quarantined for 14 days.

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced the “travel advice” on Wednesday during a video feed briefing attended by New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy and Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, all Democrats.

“We must now ensure that rates continue to fall.” Cuomo said. “We also need to stop the virus from getting on the plane.”

Murphy said the state health departments will provide details on how the rule will work.

Cuomo said visitors from states with a certain infection rate should be quarantined. As of Wednesday, states above the threshold include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.


Follow the AP coverage of the pandemic at https://apnews.com/VirusOutbreak and https://apnews.com/UnderstandingtheOutbreak.

Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed without permission.