!-- 634c7aa55dca3b282b7c80846a1dd8060284ae7f -->

NASCAR playoff bubble: Updated Cup Series points after the race in New Hampshire

In the closing laps of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Tyler Reddick worked his way up to 10th ahead of William Byron and Jimmie Johnson.

That was a major problem the points classification as Reddick battles both Byron and Johnson for the 16th and final spot in the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs with six races remaining in the regular season.

MORE: Full Results, Highlights from Sunday’s Race

10th place finished Reddick closer to the edge of the NASCAR Cup Series playoff bubble, as he is now 15 points behind Byron in 16th place. Johnson seemed on his way to a top-10 finish in New Hampshire on Sunday, but he slipped to 12th and cost himself a number of playoff points. Now, the seven-time Cup Series champion is 18th in the playoff position, 25 points behind Byron.

Below is a look at the NASCAR playoff photo with six races, including doubleheaders in Michigan and Dover, remaining before the playoffs are scheduled to begin in September.

NASCAR playoff bubble

In total, 10 drivers have won races in 2020 and achieved places in the playoffs of the NASCAR Cup Series 2020. With six more races in the regular season, this means that in 2020 there will be no more than 16 race winners, so all race winners will make it into the postseason.

Below is the list of drivers who have not won any races in 2020 and are currently on what can be considered the NASCAR playoff bubble. Surprisingly, it includes Cup Series defending champion Kyle Busch, who finished in last Sunday due to an early crash to extend his winless streak to 20 races.

RankDriver+ 17th / -16th
11.Aric Almirola+145
12.Kurt Busch+112
13.Kyle Busch+94
14.Clint Bowyer+43
15.Matt DiBenedetto+40
16.William Byron+15
(Playoff cut-off)
17.Tyler Reddick-15
18.Jimmie Johnson-25
19.Erik Jones-31
20.Bubba Wallace-118

NASCAR play-off points classification

Brad Keselowski won Sunday’s race in New Hampshire for his third win of the season, putting a bit of strain on leaders of playoff points Denny Hamlin (five wins) and Kevin Harvick (four wins).

Below are the 10 drivers on the bubble, below are the views from the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs through Sunday’s race in New Hampshire.

(* – Race winner 2020)

RankDriverPlayoff points
1.Denny Hamlin *2,037
2.Kevin Harvick *2,037
3.Brad Keselowski *2,031
4.Joey Logano *2,019
5.Pursuit Elliott *2,016
6.Ryan Blaney *2,015
7.Martin Truex Jr. *2,011
8.Alex Bowman *2,009
9.Austin Dillon *2,005
10.Cole Custer *2,005
11.Aric Almirola2,005
12.Kurt Busch2,003
13.Kyle Busch2,002
14.Clint Bowyer2,002
15.William Byron2,002
16.Matt DiBenedetto2000
17.Tyler Reddick469
18.Jimmie Johnson459
19.Erik Jones453
20.Michael McDowell359
21.Chris Buescher357
22.Bubba Wallace356
23.Christopher Bell355
24.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.345
25.John Hunter Nemechek326
26.Ryan Newman325
27.Ty Dillon292
28.Matt Kenseth274
29.Corey LaJoie251
30.Ryan Greece216
31.Daniel Suarez214
32.Brennan Poole146
33.Kyle Larson121
34.Quin Houff106
35.Brendan Gaughan46
36.Reed Sorenson42
37.David Ragan33
38.James Davison17

Below is the explanation of NASCAR how it awards points:

“Each finish in the field earns points for the driver, from a maximum of 40 points for the driver who finishes first, to a point for the driver who finishes 40th.

“Drivers can earn race points for their performance in Stage 1 and Stage 2. Riders who run first through 10th at the end of Stage 1 and / or Stage 2 will receive points starting with 10 points for first place, nine points for second place, up to a point for tenth place, points earned in those two stages are then added to what drivers earn after the final stage, which determines full race results. …

In addition, a driver can earn bonus playoff points for the following:

  • Five playoff points for the winning driver
  • One Playoff Bonus Point for the driver who wins Stage 1 and / or Stage 2 in each event

“Those points will be added to a driver’s total as soon as the postseason begins. The playoff points collected will be transferred at the start of Round of 16, Round of 12 and Round of 8.”

fbq(‘init’, 235247967118144);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);