Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Labor concedes defeat : Tasmanian election

The Liberal party is on track to win a historic third term in Tasmania, with votes continuing to count, indicating that the government is likely to be bounced back.

With more than half the votes counted, the Liberals are expected to win at least 12 seats, less than a majority in the state’s 25-member lower house.

Labor leader Rebecca White said she called Peter Gutwein and officially admitted defeat.

“All over the country we have seen incumbent governments rewarded for their management of COVID-19 and there is no doubt that Peter Gutwein and our public health officials kept our community safe and tonight’s outcome reflects that.”

She said Labor would continue to advocate for policies to improve infrastructure and health services.

“Tasmanians will not continue to tolerate endless infrastructure policies that have never been adhered to. Just because we fell short doesn’t mean we will stop fighting to make Tasmania a better and fairer place.”

Prime Minister Peter Gutwein has vowed to quit if unable to secure a majority, meaning another liberal could lead Tasmania if the government fails to secure the 13th seat.

Election analyst Antony Green predicted victory for the liberals.

“After these elections, there will be a liberal government. Whether it is Peter Gutwein in charge and whether it is the majority or minority liberal government,” he told ABC TV on Saturday.

“But there is no other government in that room.”

Clark’s Hobart voters form the pivotal race with independents Kristie Johnston and Sue Hickey both strong gauge

Overwinning in een van de twee ongetwijfeld Clark-zetels zou de liberalen een meerderheid kunnen opleveren, terwijl onafhankelijk succes zou kunnen leiden tot een koningsmaker.

De heer Gutwein riep de verkiezingen uit nadat mevrouw Hickey de liberalen had verlaten en de regering in een minderheid had gedompeld.

Het ABC roept zes zetels op voor Labour en twee voor de Groenen, terwijl er nog vijf twijfelen.

The Greens took a healthy punch to ensure that leader Cassy O’Connor and colleague Rosalie Woodruff will be re-elected.

There are 392,000 registered voters in Tasmania, and more than 105,000 pre-poll or post votes have been cast.

Tasmania’s election commissioner Andrew Hawkey told AAP it was unclear whether an explosion in pre-poll votes would allow a result to be determined Saturday night.

Independent upper house MP Meg Webb said the major parties’ refusal to maintain a minority government was a slap in the face of the Tasmanian people.

“It’s worse than turning their backs, it’s actually childish,” she told Sky News.

“It’s a tantrum approach to democracy.”