Google adjusts its privacy settings to retain less user data

Google quietly rolls out test version of Android upgrade

Google adjusts its privacy settings to keep less data about new users by default.

The search giant said it will automatically and continuously delete web and app activity and location history for new users after 18 months from Wednesday.

Settings for existing users are not affected, but the company sends reminders about the feature.

The change comes after Google added new controls last year that allow users to effectively put an expiration date on their data, by offering the option to automatically delete location history, search, voice, and YouTube activity data after three or 18 months.

The company also makes it easier to toggle on and off incognito mode while using the Search, Maps, and YouTube mobile apps by long-pressing the profile picture. In incognito mode, Google does not remember any activity while browsing online.

Another change makes it easier for users to access their controls when performing Google searches. If they are signed in to their Google accounts and search for terms like ‘Google Privacy Checkup’, they will see a box visible only to them with their privacy and security settings.

Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed without permission.

.