Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Golden Globes: The Power of the Dog and Succession in a Celebrity-Free Ceremony

The Power of the Dog and Succession were the big winners of an unusual, stripped-down Golden Globes.

Traditionally, the ceremony has been a glitzy broadcast with A-listers in attendance, but after a year of controversy surrounding diversity and amoral practices, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association lost its foothold in the industry, with publicity agencies, studios and celebrities choosing to distance themselves.

Sunday night’s event took place at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles, with no stars or audience, and only selected members and beneficiaries. The results were announced via social media.

The critically acclaimed Netflix drama The Power of the Dog was named Best Picture Drama, while Jane Campion became the third woman to win the Best Director award. Kodi Smit-McPhee also won Best Supporting Actor for his role in the film.

Will Smith was named Best Actor in a Drama for King Richard, while Nicole Kidman won Best Actress in a Drama for playing Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos. It was Kidman’s fourth win from 16 nominations.

Steven Spielberg’s critically acclaimed remake, West Side Story, dominated the musical/comedy categories, winning Best Picture, Best Actress for Rachel Zegler and Best Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBose. Andrew Garfield was also named Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy for Tick, Tick…Boom!.

On the television side, HBO’s hit drama Succession won awards for Best Drama, Best Actor for Jeremy Strong, and Best Supporting Actress for Sarah Snook. The network also saw its freshman series Hacks named Best Comedy and star Jean Smart won Best Actress in a Comedy Series. Jason Sudeikis was named Best Comedy Actor for Ted Lasso, while O Yeong-Su won Best Supporting Actor for Netflix’s breakthrough hit Squid Game.

Golden Globe-winning Jeremy Strong in succession. Photo: Graeme Hunter/AP

MJ Rodriguez became the first trans woman to win the Best Actress in a Drama Series award for Pose.

Kate Winslet was named Best Actress in a Limited Series for the critically acclaimed crime drama Mare of Easttown, while Michael Keaton was named Best Actor in a Limited Series for Hulu’s opioid drama Dopesick. Barry Jenkins’ historical drama The Underground Railroad also won Best Limited Series.

Other winners were Japan’s Drive My Car for Best Non-English Film, Encanto for Best Animated Feature, Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast for Best Screenplay, No Time to Die for Best Original Song and Dune for Best Original Score.

Employees from several Hollywood Foreign Press Association-backed nonprofits attended to announce the winners. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jamie Lee Curtis appeared via video to talk about the HFPA’s philanthropic efforts. “I’m proud to be associated with them in this venture,” Curtis said, as Schwarzenegger praised the organization’s support to several voices.

The event required a vaccination certificate and a negative PCR test. Participants were also required to be masked and socially distancing at all times.

Following a string of revelations in the Los Angeles Times exposing a lack of diversity in the voting membership of the HFPA and a number of “ethical flaws”, the past 12 months has seen high-profile actors, including Tom Cruise and Scarlett Johansson, speak out. against the association, as well as NBC deciding not to broadcast this year’s ceremony.

Attempted repair work included “overhauling” previously restrictive statutes, making changes to the code of conduct and ethical practices, and bringing in a diverse set of 21 new members.

“Last year, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association was challenged to change — and we did,” said Helen Hoehne, its president. “Both internally, within the Association, and adding 21 members to bring new perspectives.

“We are on a journey of change and we are not going to rest. We will be candid about what we are learning and challenge others to join us.”

Kyle Bowser, senior vice president of the NAACP Hollywood Bureau, spoke about a joint five-year initiative to increase diversity, equity and inclusion. “Imagination is the currency that sustains and propels the entertainment industry,” he said at the ceremony.

Last year’s television ceremony suffered a catastrophic 60% drop in viewership.

The Sunday’s Critics Choice awards were expected to act as an unofficial replacement, with celebrity presences and a televised ceremony, but the event was canceled. postponed due to an increase in Covid-19 cases.

This year’s Oscar nominations will be announced on February 8, and the awards ceremony will take place on March 27.